• You are here
  • Forum Header
  • See and review the latest setlists. Post and discuss past setlists.
jk420
Junior Boarder
At least I'm enjoyin' the ride

Grate night at the Ratdog show...my review

#308793 6 months, 1 week ago
OK so here's my take on the show overall...

I'll start by saying that Bobby's performance was outstanding, I thought....voice, sound, enthusiastic, really good show by him.
I'd give him and the setlist an A overall, so for me that made the night. First set was killer with the 2 JGB songs ending the set. Second set was bluesy and more mellow, but good song selection.

BUT, I have to be honest and give some criticisms to the band....

I thought Kimock was lost most of the night and missed so many cues to solo or "noodle" around a bit. JK is much tighter with playing the GD tunes. Kimock did not impress, I thought.

THe 2 bass players did NOTHING to enhance the band, and I love Wasserman! (I am a touring musician who plays bass for 20+ years, so that's from my perspective as a player). I was expecting much more from his performance. I really actually missed Phil's bass lines in so many places.

Jay Lane did nothing to enhance the performance either and I've seen him with furthur and primus multiple times, so that surprised me. He played the normal beats fine but NEVER did any cool fills or tricky off-beats. He was either disinterested or maybe told to reign it in. I dont know. But I thought he was boring as hell compared to Russo. Again, I am a fan of his too.

Even Chimenti, who is always solid as hell, seemed low in the mix, and needed to be more featured for me. But he was the next best performance to Bobby's.

Now all this said i had a great night and look forward to the Capital Theater shows. Great vibe...I needed this with no Furthur. But there is no way this band ROCKS the way Furthur does when they get it going, IMO.
The following user(s) said Thank You: kevin, SunshineSue
illuminaughty
Platinum Boarder