• You are here
  • Forum Header
  • Topics not covered in other forums.
ScarletFire
Junior Boarder

What got you into the Dead?

#9111 3 years, 4 months ago
I got a cassette of In the Dark when I was a freshman in high school in 1987 and that opened the door. Go ahead, call me a Touch head, I don't care. Fast forward to a few years later and a few friends from Jersey got me acquainted with Live Dead during my freshman year of college. Shortly after some shenanigans ensued and I started doing the blanks and postage thing in the back of of Relix, then I saw a few Dead shows during the summer of 92 and 93 and I was hooked Anyone else care to share how it all started for you??
Last Edit: 3 years, 4 months ago by ScarletFire.
GreatestStoryEverTold
Expert Boarder

Re: What got you into the Dead?

#9112 3 years, 4 months ago
Greatest Story Ever Told sealed the deal for me.
ScarletFire
Junior Boarder

#9115 3 years, 4 months ago
Last Edit: 3 years, 4 months ago by ScarletFire.
reb
Visitor

#9123 3 years, 4 months ago
When I was 14, I made my first solo trip to the department store to buy a LP album to play on my brand new stereo. I was drawn to the album cover of "Workingman's Dead" but that was an expensive new release, so I bought 'The Grateful Dead' instead. Three years later I went to my first show and the rest is history...
Steve
Junior Boarder

#9124 3 years, 4 months ago
The older brother of a friend was playing Great American Music Hall from 75 (Help>Slip>Franklins) and I said "what is this?" and "do you have more?" This was 1983.

I had heard of the dead and heard their radio songs (UJB, Truckin, etc), but never had heard what they really sounded like (ie - live)

He made us some tapes and there was no turning back. I was hooked.
Thanks Charlie Miller!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
DetroitChris
Fresh Boarder

#9127 3 years, 4 months ago
For me it was my friend's tapes of the GD in Ann Arbor at Hill Auditorium Winter '71.
Docpaleo
Junior Boarder
Peace, love & light