• Forum Header
  • Topics not covered in other forums.
Ossumpei
Platinum Boarder

Spinners

#12228 3 years, 6 months ago
So what is the deal with the spinners? It must be fun because I've seen a lot of people do it over the years. I tried it a couple of times, but it wasn't much fun.

Is it a female only thing? Do I need a long skirt to twirl to make it flow?
spinners.jpg

I am obviously missing something.

What's the deal??
Let us all look kindly on our neighbor.
lostsailor
Senior Boarder

Re: Spinners

#12245 3 years, 6 months ago
I've been spinning since 1989 . and a guy

It depends on what you are into. But for me it's very meditative, you can start to see the music in a phyisical since and sometimes you get so into it that you can almost feel like you can affect the music.

I've posted about spinning before- a scholar named Eliade Mirceade argued that, ulike today's judeo-christian god(s)- the gods back then had to do something to create. It wasn't simply "willing it". So what did they do to create? Dance and beat a drum. Eliade argued very clearly that when humans dance in a sacred settting, they were recreating the act of god's creatoin. It is an almost universal, archetypal pattern we see across the planet. A clear example can be seen in the sacred drum rites of Japan (those big drums and the funky dance they do). Also, the dances of indonesia have a dane I believe that is part of the act of creation.

So I often think during the moment that I can feel a new layer of consciousness. Throw in some acid... it's great stuff
Last Edit: 3 years, 6 months ago by lostsailor.
derek92
Junior Boarder

#12248 3 years, 6 months ago
i wouldn't say i spin, i am obviously missing something as well, but at times the music jumps into me and im off! Can't control it dancing somehow turning occasionally maybe i do get it?? not sure
lostsailor
Senior Boarder

#12253 3 years, 6 months ago
derek92 wrote: